OPC Client in ASP.NET

• Thread starter Leonidas Kallis
  • Start date
L

Leonidas Kallis

I am a student and I'm working on a project to create a web client (remote) application to control a RTU/Modbus device. I'm thinking of using KEPServerEX OPC Server. I read that a Visual Basic Client can be created to connect to this specific OPC Server. Can anyone please tell me if this server supports ASP.NET or if I will need specific driver/wrapper?
Any other suggestion will be greatly appreciated.

R

Raymond van der Tas

To access COM objects (OPC Servers) C++ programmers use the OPC custom interfaces

literature:
- Kraig Brockschmidt, Inside OLE, Second Edition, Microsoft Press, Redmond, WA
- OPC Data Access Custom Interface Standard, Version 2.0, OPC Foundation

The OPC foundation created a common wrapper DLL to allow simpler programming environments with Automation capabilities (Visual Basic, Delphi, ASP...)

literature:
- OPC Data Access Automation Specification v2.02
OPC Foundation

For .NET development environment you either wrap the wrapper DLL or you install an OPC XML service which comes with your OPC DA Server to allow your program to call the web service interfaces.

Info about OPC development tools:
http://www.OPCFoundation.org
http://www.iconics.com/products/opctoolworx.asp

Regards
Raymond van der Tas

M

Michael Griffin

If you are a student, then you likely have more enthusiasm for learning than you have money. If the purpose is to create a simple web client, then I would suggest that instead of purchasing a proprietary software stack, that you use free software instead.

There are plenty of free source code implementations of Modbus available on the internet; no doubt others could recommend particular ones. The Apache web server is free. Web scripting languages such as PHP or Python are free. There is plenty of free documentation available on the internet on all of these.